1 Comment

Round up-April

Things have been pretty hectic on the personal front, particularly over Easter where my mother almost died and our cat died. We are devastated by the loss of our little cat. He was ginger, so friendly and pretty. My mother has picked up and has developed a different personality after a stroke. My mother has been bedridden for a few years, but it is really, really hard to see someone you love just fade away a bit at a time.

I had a birthday in April. Yes, I’m bull headed!

A few things on the cards for me in May. I am heading to the USA on the 10th of May, making a beeline to New Orleans and the RT Convention. My first! So if you are going to be there and you see me, do say hi. I’m excited to be going to New Orleans, but sadly in the knowledge that I can’t eat fish as I appear to have developed an allergy.

I’m waiting on the cover of The Sorcerer’s Spell to make an appearance and as it hasn’t I won’t be able to bring bookmarks etc to the RT Convention.  On the other hand, there have been some lovely reviews of Bespelled lately, some on Goodreads and another on Amazon. I’ll put the links down below.

I’ve been writing sporadically lately, mostly because of what’s happened with my mother. When emotional stuff happens, my head fills up with a kind of gunge and it takes a while for it to clear and to be able to think again. This time I really thought she was going and it was a confronting experience to say goodbye, to grieve and accept. Of course, my mother turned that on it’s head, which is also a bit destabilising to say the least!

On the writing front I’m working on a third story in the Bespelled world called Invoked. I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out. It has more world building in it (across the series)  but it is also a bit darker than the other two. We’ll have to see.

I also have to knuckle down and get started on The Changling Curse, which is the sequel to The Sorcerer’s Spell. This one is going to be a bit more on the erotica side. I’m saying this because The Sorcerer’s Spell is listed as erotica. I shouldn’t be surprised. It was rather hot!

Meanwhile, I can’t believe how fast this year is going. It’s May already and with me being away in New Orleans, the month is going to go very fast. I’m hoping to finish the first draft of Invoked in May. It was meant to be April, but enough said. I’ll be writing on the plane I think.

Here are the links to the reviews. Thank you  lovely reviewers. It feels amazing when someone likes what you’ve done and really gets it. If you read Bespelled don’t forget to drop me a line. I need pick me ups these days with family illness’s etc.

The first review is here on the Amazon.com site.

The second I found on Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/911419129?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

One comment on “Round up-April

  1. Here’s on to May! Hopefully it will be just a great and productive :D

Leave a Reply

Romance Writers of Australia

The Official blog of Romance Writers of Australia Inc.

Simon Petrie

WRITER, TIME TRAVELLER, INVETERATE LIAR

Pirates of the Burley Griffin

A schedule bears the same relationship to reality as Astrology

Sisters of the Pen

All about writing

Ian McHugh

science fiction and fantasy writer

The Escapades

The Escape Publishing Blog

Fantasy Writers on Retreat

A number of fantasy writers get together to write for two weeks

Madison Woods

Where Fantasy and the Wild Ozarks Meet

UnderHill and Deeper Still

The Journal of Fantasy Writer Paul Brandon

The Nocturnalist

The blog of author Matthew Farrer

Glitter Rose

The Carmine Island collection by Marianne de Pierres

Sarah Cawkwell's Blog

"The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction has to make sense." -- Tom Clancy

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

