Leave a comment

Too much time to write and not enough to time to write

At present I’m on leave. I took extra leave to write. I don’t seem to be able to write at all. It’s a bit of a struggle.

Yesterday, I had just sat down and was in the writing zone, but then I had to go to an information session in the city. When I got there it wasn’t on. It’s today, but in making that trip,  I wasted about 2 hours of writing time. Of course, there’s no guarantee that I would have written, but you get my point.

Then you have the ‘I’m not in the mood’ or’ I have a headache’ (which I do this morning) or there is a builder here or a phone call. And sometimes it’s I can’t be bothered. Shock! Horror!

I believe being a writer is a constant struggle between life and your creativity. I know I love writing and I love being in the zone, but sometimes there are too many obstacles to getting there. I think I’m annoyed at myself that I took this extra time and I’m filling it with other guff. I should smack my own bottom!

This year I have dropped a lot of activities ( I think-the more I drop the more rise up and say what about me). I’m going to work, write and make hats, and also weave, maybe do some quilting and work on the house. Oh dear, it’s getting crowded and that’s my positively do nothing year. Oh and I forgot I’m going to the RT Convention in May in New Orleans and also to the UK in August.

Right now I’m going to dissolve into a puddle and forget about being annoyed at myself. I’ll manage some how.

 

About donnamareehanson

Author of science fiction, fantasy and horror and paranormal romance.

Leave a Reply

Simon Petrie

WRITER, TIME TRAVELLER, INVETERATE LIAR

Pirates of the Burley Griffin

A schedule bears the same relationship to reality as Astrology

Sisters of the Pen

All about writing

Ian McHugh

science fiction and fantasy writer

The Escapades

The Escape Publishing Blog

Fantasy Writers on Retreat

A number of fantasy writers get together to write for two weeks

Madison Woods

Where Fantasy and the Wild Ozarks Meet

UnderHill and Deeper Still

The Journal of Fantasy Writer Paul Brandon

The Nocturnalist

The blog of author Matthew Farrer

Glitter Rose

The Carmine Island collection by Marianne de Pierres

Sarah Cawkwell's Blog

"The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction has to make sense." -- Tom Clancy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

